Ann Harris

Ann was born in the UK and for 30 years she practiced as a solicitor in the City of London. Her late husband, Rabbi Cyril Harris was a community Rabbi in three different London congregations and in 1987, he became Chief Rabbi of South Africa. With this appointment, they moved to Johannesburg where Ann became one of the lawyers working in the Law Clinics at Wits University.

Chief Rabbi Cyril Harris

Chief Rabbi Cyril Harris is one of the founders of Afrika Tikkun. He trained at the Jews College, and served suburban congregations in Kenton and Edgware and finally St Johns Wood from 1979. From 1966 to 1971, Harris also served as Senior Jewish Chaplain to the British Armed Forces. He later went on to become one of the founders of Afrika Tikkun. Cyril Kitchener Harris was Chief Rabbi of The Union of Orthodox Synagogues of South Africa from 1987 to 2004.

Bertie Lubner

After 41 years with the Plate Glass Group, Bertie changed his focus to allow him to undertake a number of initiatives, including continuing involvement with major business organizations, government bodies, and his family’s philanthropic initiatives. In particular, he wanted to create organizations that would look after the future interests of the emerging generation of black children. This led him to initiate, and become a founder and thereafter the Chairman of a number of outreach programmes and from this Afrika Tikkun was born.

Herby Rosenberg

Herby, who was among the earliest founders of Afrika Tikkun has, over the years, become Afrika Tikkun’s Ambassador, loved and deeply respected within the organisation, and far beyond its walls. Herby is a retired attorney, who has also served as the director-General of the South African Zionist Federation. Herby’s list of patronages and directorships include Worcester School for the deaf and Blind, Medunsa University and the Jewish Telegraphic Agency in New York, where Herby was the only South African on the board.

Arnold Forman

Arnold Forman is a Chartered Accountant who completed his articles with Arthur young, in 1989, and remained in the profession until the end of 1994 when he left Coopers Lybrand Canada. He joined the Lubner Group in 1995, as a Financial director, and remains in the group



Bas Creemers

Chairman / Voorzitter


Edwin Stolk

Secretary / Secretaris

Kay Formanek

Board Member / Bestuurslid


Alkje Kenter

Treasurer / Penningmeester



Carole Day


Gary Lubner


Nizan Olsha